Be Safe!

Recently I have been thinking about travel safety. The world we live in today is pretty scary. There are plenty of bad people out there who want to hurt others. This was something I thought about quite a lot while I was in Budapest this summer. I traveled alone some of the days that I was in Hungary and I was always very aware that I am a single young woman running around a foreign country where I don’t know the area very well and I don’t know the language. While traveling alone is very in-powering it is also important to keep safety in mind.

While I was traveling alone I always stayed in populated areas and places where I knew that they spoke english. I know it sounds like common sense but sometimes crazy things happen and you never know! I took a bus that brought me to different landmark areas that I wanted to see and these places always had a lot of tourists. I am very into checking out local areas but when I was alone I didn’t even think about going somewhere that I didn’t know and where there wouldn’t be a lot of people. Even when I took cabs I was skeptical (I know it sounds horrible but it’s okay to be on guard and still be friendly). So here are some tips that I used and frequently thought about while on my trip!

Tips:

  1. Stay in populated areas
  2. Don’t give away personal information to strangers
  3. Don’t leave your personal things laying around
  4. Don’t take food or drinks from someone you don’t know.
  5. Don’t wear fancy jewelry or clothes around
  6. Don’t go anywhere alone at night
  7. Make sure you tell someone where you will be during the day

While you leave your things in your hotel remember to always put things away and to lock away your valuables.

Budapest is one of the safest cities in Europe but I still didn’t take any chances. No matter where you go nowadays there is always risk but that doesn’t mean that you shouldn’t go. Was a worried about my safety while I was alone in Hungary? Yes! But did it stop me from going? NO! 100% No. Fear is never a good reason do not do something. So be safe and have fun on your travels!

 

Leave a Reply

